Where Are They Now: Eleanor

Meet Eleanor our one of very dear former volunteers from London. Elle, as everybody calls her,  first joined LLI in February 2010 and stayed with us until July 2010. She came back in April 2011 and stayed until August 2011.

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.12.50 PMElle studied Spanish at school and then at University, and always had a love of anything Latin American. Her first visit was at the age 18 when she went to live in Costa Rica for 6 months.
At present Elle is a social worker in London, working with children of all ages who are at risk of harm, and she works on implementing plans to address those risks and improve their situation.

Today we are taking a trip to the memory lane with Elle and welcome you to join us 🙂

Favorite memory from LI days?

Literally almost all of my memories are favourites. One particular one was havine Irene (the 73 (now probs 77) year old woman from Zone Z read her first sentence in Spanish after taking my literacy class.

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.12.59 PM

What classes did you teach at LLI?

I did some English teaching, more so in my first stint. We did conversation club with the older ones. I became involved in the Women’s Group in my first stint, but got much more into it in my second, coordinating a lot of the activities and sessions. The organisation has progressed astronomically since I was there, and now there are roles covered by all different people, however at the time I was there, I was a bit of a jack of all trades and helped out with many of the projects.

Do you feel your experience with LLI has helped your career path or your personal development? If so, tell us how!

LLI was the reason I decided to become a social worker. I found that working directly with people and supporting them to affect change in their own lives was the most incredible thing, and I returned and applied straight away for my Masters in Social Work.

Are you still in touch with any past LLI volunteers? Who?
Yes I am in touch with many of the past volunteers:
Amy, Bridget, Dana, Cristina, Ash, Chris, Gladys, Mimo, Meri, Whitney, Sarah, Sara (x2),

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.12.43 PM

Would you like to give a shoutout to a dear friend from LLI and leave a nice message for them to read on our blog and make their day?

Meri – Roomie! I miss you. Hope you’re getting on well, have you finally finished your degree(s)? Learnt anay more languages!? Have such fond memories of that first stint in LLI. Lots of love, Ellie xx

In 5 words describe your experience with LLI.
Inspiring
Life-changing
Immensely enjoyable
friends for life
Awesome

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 6.12.17 PM
5 random facts about yourself 🙂

My nickname at LLI was BG (British girl) because i was the first and only Brit there during my time.
I have a degree in Economics but couldn’t tell you the most basic principles!
I’ve recently taken up indoor rock climbing
My two closest friends at LLI were both over 9 inches taller than me (Lara and Amy)
I chose LLI out of a number of NGO’s because it said it had a roof terrace on the top of the house (in their first house)

We love you Elle! You’ll always be the dearest British Girl of our team 🙂

Leave a Reply

