Meet Pam who is LLI’s Volunteer and Events Coordinator! Pam has been with the LLI team since March and has helped us out by coordinating our 7th Anniversary, bringing in and even taking care of some awesome volunteers!

Pam is from the Bay Area-California, but has spent some time living in Chicago, IL first as a student before entering the working world. She received her Bachelors of Arts in Human Development from the University of Chicago.

image1Get to know how adventurous and fun our Volunteer Coordinator Pam is with this short Q&A below:

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Your experiences before LLI, where you come from, hobbies..etc.

Hi! I’m Pam, from the Bay Area – California, but I spent the 5 years prior to LLI in Chicago. Before LLI, I spent a year working with Chicago Public School Parents towards  Restorative Justice practices and Early Education access in CPS schools. I aIMG_1093lso coached Junior Rowing and had a brief stint as a field researcher studying Primary Care Access for Adults. In my spare time, I enjoy cycling, dog walking, being outside, and finding good coffee.

What made you want to join LLI’s team as the Volunteer and Events Coordinator? What do you look forward to most in the position?

Though I wasn’t looking to work abroad, I immediately applied to this position because it offered me the opportunity to get to know the Huaycan community. While I was working in Chicago, I interacted with so many empowering individuals and communities; by working as the Volunteer Coordinator, I feel as I am given a similar opportunity to work with many empowering people within Huaycan while supporting the work that LLI Volunteers do in the community.

Beyond the many Huaycan-ites I’ve been fortunate to meet, I always look forward to meeting the new incoming volunteers that join us at LLI! It’s been incredible to make new friends from all over while working and living together.

You’ve been in Peru for 4 months, what are you liking best about Peru?

There are so many things I love about Huaycan, it’s hard to name them all! Everyday I look forward to all the familiar faces on Quince, Clase de Baile with Jorge at the gym, long runs on the canchon, and the familiar sounds coming from all the vendors and cobradores. There is a deep place in my heart though for a nice, long combi nap through all the crazy traffic out here. I still have so much time left and hope to see more of this beautiful country!

IMG_1892 (1)

Leave a Reply

